May 22, 2022  
2022-2023 Academic Calendar 
    
2022-2023 Academic Calendar

Academic Key Dates & Deadlines 2022-2023


Please refer to the following important key dates and deadlines throughout the year to ensure you meet NIC’s academic deadlines.  

2021 Fall Term Dates
2022 Winter Term Dates
2022 Spring Term Dates
2022 Summer Term Dates
2022 Fall Term Dates
2023 Winter Term Dates
2023 Spring Term Dates
2023 Summer Term Dates
 

Programs with Varying Start Dates

If you are studying in the following program areas, varying start dates apply.  Click you program area for details.  

Office Administration
Early Childhood Care & Education Certificate
Early Childhood Care & Education Diploma
Activity Assistant
Health Care Assistant Certificate
Practical Nursing Diploma
Animal Care Aide and Hospital Unit Clerk Certificate
Electronics Technician Core and Industrial Automation Diploma
Trades and Technical
Apprenticeship Technical Training
Continuous Entry/Exit courses & program (Upgrading)

 


PROGRAMS WITH VARYING START DATES

North Island College offers a wide range of programs and courses with varying schedules and deadlines. Please ensure that you are following the timelines associated with your program. For more information or guidance, please contact Student Services.

Withdrawal without academic penalty - Programs that are longer than 13 weeks in length with varying start and end dates will have 60% of the program to withdraw without academic penalty

Office Administration

Office Assistant I Certificate, Administrative Assistant Certificate, Computing Accounting Assistant Certificate, Office Management Certificate:

  • Students registering from May to September for the Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer terms must pay full fees by 4:00 pm by the due date of each term (see below).
  • Students registering during the terms must pay full fees at the time of registration.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10% of the course and is specific to each course section. Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 25% of the course and is specific to each course section.

Early Childhood Care & Education Certificate

  • Full fees for the first term are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.

  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Wednesday, November 9 to Thursday, November 10, 2022.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 7, 2023. Winter classes start January 9, 2023.
  • Spring Reading Break TBA
  • All stat holidays apply.

Early Childhood Care & Education Diploma

  • Full fees for the first term are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Wednesday, November 9 to Thursday, November 10, 2022
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023. Winter classes start January 9, 2023.
  • Spring Reading Break TBA
  • All stat holidays apply.

Activity Assistant:

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • All stat holidays apply.  No reading breaks.

Health Care Assistant Certificate:

  • Full fees for the first term are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Wednesday, November 9 to Thursday November 10, 2022
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

 

Practical Nursing Diploma

  • Full fees for the first term are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the term.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start January 3, 2022.

Hospital Unit Clerk Certificate

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter classes start Tuesday, January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply.  No reading breaks.

Animal Care Aide Certificate

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter classes start Tuesday, January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply.  No reading breaks.

Electronics Technician Core Certificate and Industrial Automation Diploma

  • Full fees for the first term are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start Tuesday, January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Trades & Technical

  • Full fees for the first term are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of program.
  • Winter break is December 26, 2022 to January 2, 2023 inclusive. Winter classes start Tuesday, January 3, 2023.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

    Aircraft Structures Technician (AME-S)

Aquaculture Technician Certificate

Aquaculture Technician Diploma

Automotive Collision and Refinishing Technician Foundation Harmonized

Automotive Service Technician Foundation Harmonized

Carpentry Foundation Harmonized

Coastal Forest Worker Certificate

Coastal Forest Technology Diploma

Culinary Business Operations Diploma

Culinary Business Operations Advanced Diploma

Electrician Foundation Harmonized

Furniture Design and Joinery Certificate

Heavy Mechanical Trades Foundation Certificate

Metal Fabricator Foundation Harmonized

Motor Sport and Power Equipment Technician Foundation Certificate

Parts and Warehousing Person Foundation Certificate

Plumbing & Piping Trades Foundation Harmonized

Prep Cook Certificate

Professional Cook (Culinary Arts) 1, 2, 3

Shellfish Aquaculture Technician

Welder Foundation Harmonized

Apprenticeships

  • Full fees are due 60 days prior to the start day of your course.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 28 days prior to start of course.
  • Schedule of training dates can be found at www.tradestrainingbc.ca

Automotive Apprenticeship Harmonized

Cabinetmaker (Joiner) Apprenticeship

Carpentry Apprenticeship Harmonized

Electrician Apprenticeship Harmonized

Heavy Duty Apprenticeship

Plumbing Apprenticeship

Plumber Apprenticeship Harmonized

Welder Apprenticeship Harmonized

 

Continuous Entry/Exit courses and program (Upgrading)

Continuous entry/exit courses (Identified with a ‘C’ as the 3rd  letter in the section code eg: CVC1, DLC1)

  • Last day for tuition refunds 10 days from the student start date.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is 60% from student start date.

 

Withdrawal without academic penalty: Programs that are longer than 13 weeks in length with varying start and end dates will have 60% of the program to withdraw without academic penalty

 

 


2021 Fall Term Dates

September 2021

 

Mon - Sept 6
Labour Day:  College Closed

Tue - Sept 7
Orientation Day - No Scheduled Classes

First day of Fall Term.  All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisite met by 4 pm for Fall Term.

Wed - Sept 8
Fall classes begin.

Mon - Sept 13
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats; remining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm. 

Thur - Sept 16
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit. 

Thur - Sept 30 
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits. 

Orange Shirt Day

October 2021 

Mon - Oct 11
Thanksgiving Day - College Closed

Fri - Oct 15
Fall exam schedule posted. 

Last day to register for flexible distance courses. 

Fri - Oct 29
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty.  

November 2021


Wed, Nov 10 to Fri, Nov 12
Fall Reading Break 
 

Thur - Nov 11
Remembrance Day: College Closed
 

Mon, Nov 29 to Fri, Dec 3
Last week of classes. 

December 2021

Wed - Dec 1
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for 2022 Winter term. 

Mon, Dec 6 to Thur, Dec 16 
Fall Final Exams

Mon - Dec 6
National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women. 

Mon, Dec 27 to Mon, Jan 3
Winter Break - College Closed. 

2022 Winter Term Dates

January 2022


Tue - Jan 4
International Student Orientation Comox Valley and Campbell River 


Mon - Jan 10
First day of Winter Term.  Classes begin

All fees must be paid in full by 4 pm for the Winter Term. 

All prerequisites must be met by 4 pm for the Winter Term. 


Fri - Jan 14
Last day for wait-listed students to claim seats; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm. 


Wed - Jan 19 
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit


Mon - Jan 31
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits for Winter term. 

February 2022 


Fri - Feb 11
Last day to register in ABE continuous entry/exit courses. 


Tue - Feb 15
Winter exam schedule posted. 

Mon - Feb 21
Family Day - College Closed


Tue, Feb 22 to Fri, Feb 25
Winter Reading Break


Fri - Feb 25
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty

April 2022


Mon, Apr 4 to Fri, Apr 8
Last week of classes for Winter Term.


Tue - Apr 5
Timetable posted for the Fall and Winter terms


Sat, Apr 9 to Fri, Apr 22
Winter Exams


Fri, Apr 15 to Mon, Apr 18
Good Friday & Easter Monday -  College Closed


Thur, Apr 28 to Fri, Apr 29 
International student orientation Comox Valley

2022 Spring Term Dates

May 2022

Mon, May 2
First day of 13-week Spring term. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm

Mon, May 2
First day of 7-week Spring intersession. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm

Wed, May 4
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Spring intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm


Fri, May 6
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Spring intersession
 

Fri, May 6
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 13-week Spring term; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm
 

Mon, May 9
Continuing student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms
 

Mon, May 9
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Fall term

Wed, May 11
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 13-week Spring term

Mon, May 16
7-week Spring intersession exam schedule posted

Mon, May 23
Victoria Day: College Closed

Tue, May 24
New student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms

Fri, May 27
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Spring intersessionJune 2022

June 2022

Mon, Jun 13 - Fri, Jun 17
Last week of classes for 7-week Spring intersession

Wed, Jun 15
13-week Spring term exam schedule posted

Mon, Jun 20 - Sat, Jun 25
7-week Spring intersession final exams

Tue, Jun 21
National Indigenous Peoples Day

Fri, Jun 24
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 13-week Spring term

Wed, Jun 29 - Fri, Jul 1
Reading Break: 13-week Spring term

2022 Summer Term Dates

July 2022

Fri, Jul 1
Canada Day: College Closed

Mon, Jul 4
First day of 7-week Summer intersession. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm

Wed, Jul 6
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Summer intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm

Fri, Jul 8
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Summer intersession

Mon, Jul 18
7-week Summer intersession exam schedule posted

Mon, Jul 25 - Fri, Jul 29
Last week of classes for 13-week Spring term

Fri, Jul 29
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Summer intersession

 

August 2022

Mon, Aug 1
BC Day: College Closed

Tue, Aug 2 - Fri, Aug 12
13-week Spring term final exams

Mon, Aug 15 - Fri, Aug 19
Last week of classes for 7-week Summer intersession

Tue, Aug 16
Last day to pay fees for Fall Limited Entry Programs

Mon, Aug 22 - Sat, Aug 27
7-week Summer intersession final exams

Mon, Aug 29 - Fri, Sep 2
International Student Orientation: Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

2022 Fall Term Dates

September 2022

Mon, Sep 5
Labour Day: College Closed

Tue, Sep 6
First day of Fall term. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Fall Term. Fall classes begin

Mon, Sep 12
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm.

Thu, Sep 15
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit.

Fri, Sep 30
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation

Fri, Sep 30
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits

October 2022

Mon, Oct 10
Thanksgiving Day: College Closed

Fri, Oct 14
Fall exam schedule posted

Fri, Oct 28
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty 

November 2022

Wed, Nov 9 - Thu, Nov 10
Fall Reading Break

Fri, Nov 11
Remembrance Day: College Closed

Mon, Nov 28 - Fri, Dec 2
Last week of classes

December 2022

Thu, Dec 1
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Winter term

Mon, Dec 5 - Fri, Dec 16
Fall final exams

Mon, Dec 26 - Mon, Jan 2
Winter Break: College Closed

2023 Winter Term Dates

January 2023

Wed, Jan 4 - Fri, Jan 6
International Student Orientation: Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

Mon, Jan 9
First day of Winter term.  Winter classes begin.

All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Winter term.

Fri, Jan 13
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm

Wed, Jan 18
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit

Tue, Jan 31
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits for Winter term

February 2023

Fri, Feb 10
Last day to register in ABE continuous entry/exit

Wed, Feb 15
Winter exam schedule posted

Mon, Feb 20
Family Day: College Closed

Tue, Feb 21 - Fri, Feb 24
Winter Reading Break

March 2023

Fri, Mar 3
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty

April 2023

Mon, Apr 3 - Thu, Apr 6
Last week of classes for Winter term

Tue, Apr 4
Timetable posted for the Fall and Winter terms

Fri, Apr 7
Good Friday: College Closed

Mon, Apr 10
Easter Monday: College Closed

Tue, Apr 11 - Fri, Apr 21
Winter final exams

Thu, Apr 27 - Fri, Apr 28
International Student Orientation: Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

2023 Spring Term Dates

May 2023


Mon, May 1

First day of 13 week Spring Term.  Classes begin.  All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm. 

First day of 7 week Spring intersession.  Classes begin.  All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm.  

Wed, May 3
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Spring intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm

Fri, May 5
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Spring intersession.

Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 13-week Spring instersession.  Waitlists will be cleared at 4:00 pm. 

Mon, May 8
Continuing student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms.

Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Fall term.

Wed, May 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 13-week Spring term.

Mon, May 15
7-week Spring Intersession exam schedule posted. 

Mon, May 22
Victoria Day - College Closed

Tue, May 23
New student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms. 


Fri, May 26
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Spring intersession

 

June 2023

Mon, Jun 12 - Fri, Jun 16
Last week of classes for 7-week Spring intersession


Thu, Jun 15
13-week Spring term exam schedule posted
 

Mon, Jun 19 - Fri, Jun 23
7-week Spring intersession final exams
 

Wed, Jun 21
National Indigenous Peoples Day
 

Fri, Jun 23
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 13-week Spring term.
 

Thu, Jun 29 - Fri, Jun 30
Reading Break  13 week Spring term
 

2023 Summer Term Dates

July 2023


Mon, Jul 3
Canada Day - College Closed
 

Tue, Jul 4
First day of 7 week Summer intersession.  Classes begin.  All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm. 


Thu, Jul 6
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Summer intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm.
 

Mon, Jul 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Summer intersession
 

Mon, Jul 17
7-week Summer intersession exam schedule posted

Mon, Jul 24 - Fri, Jul 28
Last week of classes for 13-week Spring term

Fri, Jul 28
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Summer intersession. 

Mon, Jul 31 - Fri, Aug 11
Spring term final exams

August 2023


Mon, Aug 7
BC Day - College Closed

Mon, Aug 14 - Fri, Aug 18
13-week Spring term final exams.
 

Mon, Aug 14 - Fri, Aug 18
Last week of classes for 7-week Summer intersession
 

Tue, Aug 15
Last day to pay fees for Fall Limited Entry Programs. 
 

Mon, Aug 21 - Fri, Aug 25
7-week Summer intersession final exams. 

 

 


Print (opens a new window)

Help (opens a new window)