Jun 15, 2024  
2023-2024 Academic Calendar 
    
2023-2024 Academic Calendar [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Key Dates & Deadlines


Please refer to the following important key dates and deadlines throughout the year to ensure you meet NIC’s academic deadlines.  

2023 Spring Term Dates
2023 Summer Term Dates
2023 Fall Term Dates
2024 Winter Term Dates
2024 Spring Term Dates
2024 Summer Term Dates
 

Programs with Varying Start Dates

If you are studying in the following program areas, varying start dates apply.  Click you program area for details.  

Office Administration
Early Childhood Care & Education Certificate
Early Childhood Care & Education Diploma
Activity Assistant
Health Care Assistant Certificate
Practical Nursing Diploma
Animal Care Aide and Hospital Unit Clerk Certificate
Electronics Technician Core and Industrial Automation Diploma
Trades and Technical
Apprenticeship Technical Training
Continuous Entry/Exit courses & program (Upgrading)

 


PROGRAMS WITH VARYING START DATES

North Island College offers a wide range of programs and courses with varying schedules and deadlines. Please ensure that you are following the timelines associated with your program. For more information or guidance, please contact Student Services.

Withdrawal without academic penalty - Programs that are longer than 13 weeks in length with varying start and end dates will have 60% of the program to withdraw without academic penalty

Office Administration

Office Assistant I Certificate, Administrative Assistant Certificate, Computing Accounting Assistant Certificate, Office Management Certificate:

  • Students registering for the Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer terms must pay full fees by 4:00 pm on the first day of the class.
  • Students registering during the terms must pay full fees at the time of registration.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10% of the course and is specific to each course section. Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 25% of the course and is specific to each course section.
  • Term start dates:  
    • 2023 Fall - Monday, August 21
    • 2024 Winter - Monday, January 8

Early Childhood Care & Education Certificate

  • Full fees for the first term are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.

  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Thursday, November 9 to Friday, November 10, 2023.
  • Winter break is December 25, 2023 to January 1, 2024. Winter classes start January 8, 2024.
  • Spring Reading Break TBA
  • All stat holidays apply.

Early Childhood Care & Education Diploma

  • Full fees for the first term are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Thursday, November 9 to Friday, November 10, 2023
  • Winter break is December 25, 2023 to January 1, 2024. Winter classes start January 8, 2024.
  • All stat holidays apply.

Activity Assistant:

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • All stat holidays apply.  No reading breaks.

Health Care Assistant Certificate:

  • Full fees for the first term are due approximately 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the program.
  • Fall Reading Break is Thursday, November 8 to Friday November 10, 2023.
  • Winter break is December 25, 2023 to January 1, 2024 inclusive. Winter classes start January 2, 2024.
  • Winter Reading Break is cohort-dependent - TBA.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Practical Nursing Diploma

  • Full fees for the first term are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of the term.
  • Fall Reading Break is November 8 to 10, 2023.
  • Winter break is December 25, 2023 to January 1, 2024 inclusive. Winter classes start January 2, 2024.
  • No winter term reading break.

Hospital Unit Clerk Certificate

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter classes start Monday, January 8, 2024.
  • All stat holidays apply.  No reading breaks.

Animal Care Aide Certificate

  • Full fees are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 14 days prior to the start date of the program.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is within 60% of the program.
  • Winter classes start Monday, January 8, 2024.
  • All stat holidays apply.  No reading breaks.

Trades & Technical

  • Full fees for the first term are due 3 weeks prior to start of the program. Dates are provided in your admission letter.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 10 days from the start date of program.
  • Winter break is December 25, 2023 to January 1, 2024 inclusive. Winter classes start January 2, 2024.
  • All stat holidays apply. No reading breaks.

Aircraft Structures Technician (AME-S)

Aquaculture Technician Certificate

Aquaculture Technician Diploma

Automotive Collision and Refinishing Technician Foundation Harmonized

Automotive Service Technician Foundation Harmonized

Carpentry Foundation Harmonized

Coastal Forest Worker Certificate

Coastal Forest Technology Diploma

Culinary Business Operations Certificate

Culinary Business Operations Diploma

Electrician Foundation Harmonized

Electronics Technician Core Certificate

Fabricator-Welder Foundation Harmonized Certificate

Furniture Design and Joinery Certificate

Heavy Mechanical Trades Foundation Certificate

Industrial Automation Technician Diploma

Motor Sport and Power Equipment Technician Foundation Certificate

Parts and Warehousing Person Foundation Certificate

Plumbing & Piping Trades Foundation Harmonized

Prep Cook Certificate

Professional Cook (Culinary Arts) 1, 2, 3

Shellfish Aquaculture Technician

Welder Foundation Harmonized

Apprenticeships

  • Full fees are due 60 days prior to the start day of your course.
  • Last day to drop for refund is 28 days prior to start of course.
  • Schedule of training dates can be found at www.tradestrainingbc.ca

Automotive Apprenticeship Harmonized

Cabinetmaker (Joiner) Apprenticeship

Carpentry Apprenticeship Harmonized

Electrician Apprenticeship Harmonized

Heavy Duty Apprenticeship

Plumbing Apprenticeship

Plumber Apprenticeship Harmonized

Welder Apprenticeship Harmonized

 

Continuous Entry/Exit courses and program (Upgrading)

Continuous entry/exit courses (Identified with a ‘C’ as the 3rd  letter in the section code eg: CVC1, DLC1)

  • Last day for tuition refunds 10 days from the student start date.
  • Last day to withdraw without academic penalty is the last day of class, specific to each student.

 

Withdrawal without academic penalty: Programs that are longer than 13 weeks in length with varying start and end dates will have 60% of the program to withdraw without academic penalty

 

 


2023 Spring Term Dates

May 2023

Mon, May 1
First day of Spring term. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm

Mon, May 1
First day of 7-week Spring intersession. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm

Wed, May 3
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Spring intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm


Fri, May 5
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Spring intersession
 

Fri, May 5
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for Spring term; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm
 

Mon, May 8
Continuing student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms
 

Mon, May 8
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Fall term

Wed, May 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for Spring term

Mon, May 15
7-week Spring intersession exam schedule posted

Mon, May 22
Victoria Day: College Closed

Tue, May 23
New student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms

Fri, May 26
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Spring intersession

June 2023

Mon, Jun 12-Fri, Jun 16
Last week of classes for 7-week Spring intersession

Thu, Jun 15
Spring term exam schedule posted

Mon, Jun 19 - Fri, Jun 23
7-week Spring intersession final exams

Wed, Jun 21
National Indigenous Peoples Day

Fri, Jun 23
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Spring term

Thu, Jun 29 - Fri, Jun 30
Reading Break: Spring term

2023 Summer Term Dates

July 2023

Mon, Jul 3
College closed in lieu of Canada Day, July 1

Tue, Jul 4
First day of 7-week Summer intersession. Classes begin. All fees must be paid in full and all prerequisites met by 4 pm

Thu, Jul 6
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Summer intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm

Mon, Jul 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Summer intersession

Mon, Jul 17
7-week Summer intersession exam schedule posted

Mon, Jul 24 - Fri, Jul 28
Last week of classes for Spring term

Fri, Jul 28
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Summer intersession

Mon, Jul 31 - Fri, Aug 11
Spring term fina exams

August 2023

Mon, Aug 7
BC Day: College Closed

Mon, Aug 14 - Fri, Aug 18
Last week of classes for 7-week Summer intersession

Tue, Aug 15 
Last day to pay fees for Fall Limited Entry Programs

Mon, Aug 21 - Fri, Aug 25
7-week Summer intersession final exams

Mon, Aug 28 - Fri, Sep 1
International Student Orientation: Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

2023 Fall Term Dates

September 2023

Mon, Sep 4
Labour Day: College Closed

Tue, Sep 5
First day of Fall term. Fall Classes begin.

All prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Fall Term.

Mon, Sep 11
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm.

Thu, Sep 14
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit.

Fri, Sep 29
Last day to pay fees for Fall term.

Sun, Oct 1
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits

Mon, Oct 2
College closed for day in lieu of National Day for Truth and Reconciliation - Sep 30

October 2023

Mon, Oct 9
Thanksgiving Day: College Closed

Mon, Oct 16
Fall exam schedule posted

Fri, Oct 27
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty 

November 2023

Thu, Nov 9 - Fri, Nov 10
Fall Reading Break

Mon, Nov 13
College closed in lieu of Remembrance Day - Nov 11

December 2023

Fri, Dec 1
Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Winter term

Tue, Dec 5
Last day of classes

Tur, Dec 7 - Tue, Dec 19
Fall final exams

Mon, Dec 25 - Mon, Jan 1
Winter Break: College Closed

2024 Winter Term Dates

January 2024

Wed, Jan 3 - Fri, Jan 5
International Student Orientation: Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

Mon, Jan 8
First day of Winter term.  Winter classes begin.

All prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Winter term.

Fri, Jan 12
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm

Wed, Jan 17
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit

Wed, Jan 31
Last day to opt-out of NISU Health and Dental Benefits for Winter term

Last day to pay fees for the Winter term

February 2024

Fri, Feb 9
Last day to register in ABE continuous entry/exit

Thu, Feb 15
Winter exam schedule posted

Mon, Feb 19
Family Day: College Closed

Tue, Feb 20 - Fri, Feb 23
Winter Reading Break

March 2024

Fri, Mar 1
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty

Fri, Mar 29
Good Friday: College Closed

April 2024

Mon, Apr 1
Easter Monday: College Closed

Wed, Apr 3
Timetable posted for the Fall and Winter terms

Tue, Apr 9
Last day of classes

Thu, Apr 11 - Tue, Apr 23
Winter final exams

2024 Spring Term Dates

May 2024

Wed, May 1 - Fri, May 3
International Student Orientation Comox Valley and Campbell River campuses

Mon, May 6
First day of Spring Term.  Classes begin.  All prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Spring term.

Mon, May 6
First day of 7-week Spring intersession.  Classes begin. All prerequisites met by 4 pm for the Spring intersession.

Wed, May 8
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Spring intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm

Fri, May 10
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Spring intersession.

Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for Spring term.  Waitlists will be cleared at 4:00 pm. 

Mon, May 13
Continuing student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms.

Opt-out period for NISU Health & Dental Benefits begins for Fall term.

Wed, May 15
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for Spring term.

Wed, May 15
7-week Spring Intersession exam schedule posted. 

Mon, May 20
Victoria Day - College Closed

Tue, May 21
New student registration begins for Fall and Winter terms. 


Fri, May 31
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Spring intersession

Fri, May 31
Last day to pay fees for Spring intersession.

Last day to pay fees for Spring term.

June 2024

Fri, Jun 14
Spring term exam schedule posted

Tue, Jun 18
Last day of classes for 7-week Spring intersession


Thu, Jun 20 - Tue, Jun 25
7-week Spring intersession final exams
 

Fri, Jun 28
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for Spring term.
 

2024 Summer Term Dates

July 2024


Mon, Jul 1
Canada Day - College Closed
 

Tue, Jul 2
First day of 7-week Summer intersession.  Classes begin.  All prerequisites met by 4 pm. 


Thu, Jul 5
Last day for waitlisted students to claim seats for 7-week Summer intersession; remaining waitlists will be cleared at 4 pm.
 

Mon, Jul 8
Last day to register, apply for refund, change from credit to audit for 7-week Summer intersession
 

Mon, Jul 15
7-week Summer intersession exam schedule posted

Fri, Jul 26
Last day to withdraw without academic penalty for 7-week Summer intersession

Wed, Jul 31

Last day to pay fees for Summer intersession

Wed, Jul 31

Last day of classes for Spring term

August 2024


Mon, Aug 5
BC Day - College Closed

Thu, Aug 1 - Tue, Aug 13
Spring term final exams
 


Tue, Aug 13
Last day of classes for 7-week Summer intersession

Last day to pay fees for Fall Limited Entry Programs


Thu, Aug 15 - Wed, Aug 21
7-week Summer intersession final exams

 

 


Print (opens a new window)

Help (opens a new window)